They sell it. We buy it.

Advertising has the power to sway society, whether it be consciously or unconsciously. Advertisements have been an essential part of our lives, from the moment we wake up and turn on the morning news, or drive to work past all those billboards. It has gotten to the point where we don’t even realize how many ad’s are pushed up against our windshields or plastered against walls, it’s just part of our daily lives.

apple Coke

The documentary, Persuaders demonstrates how the advertising world looks at the public and how it constantly struggles to get their word out into the world. They call it the “clutter crisis.”  The documentary, refers to consumers as roaches; there comes a point where you spray them and spray them [with ads] and eventually it doesn’t affect them anymore. Advertisers segment individuals, analyze, and then group them into target markets and demographics.  Throughout time, we’ve grown to not only like certain brands, but also love them and trust them. As states in the documentary, we ourselves have been branded with a love mark for specific brands. I myself have a special bonds with brands such as Coca Cola, Apple, and Calvin Klein. I feel that the way that these brands are advertised relate closely to me as an individual. Take a moment and think about your favorite brand of soda, coffee shop, car, or even toothpaste. Do you have a relationship or loyalty for brands? I know I do.

Companies are constantly looking for new and innovative ways to capture our attention. But they aren’t always successful. Sometimes ads fail and have negative results. Just like the following Cheerios commercial, this ad was intended to pull at the heart strings, just like the example in the video. However there was an outburst because of the interracial family depicted. Cheerios responded with the following comment: “Consumers have responded positively to our new Cheerios ad. At Cheerios, we know there are many kinds of families and we celebrate them all,” Camille Gibson, Cheerios vice president of marketing (huffington post.) Now a days I feel that eco-friendly, charitable, honest companies have more power in society. When these companies share their good nature with the power of the internet, companies are anything but limited. As stated in the article, Flawsome: Why Brands That Behave More Humanely, Including Showing Their Flaws, Will Be Awesome, “FLAWSOME is ultimately about having a mindset that consumers can relate to. A mindset that is open, honest, trusted and possibly even respected.”

3 thoughts on “They sell it. We buy it.

  1. Hi, Jose! I thought it was really interesting of you to post that video about the marketing failures. That goes nicely with the Flawsome article and how sometimes consumers like to know the flaws of the company. I also like the points you brought up in the video. I brought up similar ones myself and I think that your examples illustrate the advertising animal in this country and culture. Great post!

    Like

  2. Hey, great post. It was pretty interesting to watch the video you posted and to learn about times when advertisements had a more negative impact rather than positive. It stood out because most of the other posts I read didn’t cover this issue as deeply as you did. I also was interested in the part where you mention how people grow to trust certain brands. After thinking about it I realized that I could really relate. For example, when growing up my family had a Dodge van that had problem after problem and after we got rid of it most of my family has had Ford cars or trucks with no problems. We have developed a trust with the brand Ford and distrust with Dodge. That’s just one example though. Anyway, good job on this post.

    Like

  3. This post is a clearly presented idea of what role advertising plays in our lives. I agree with you that, like most people, I have brands I’m loyal to. Initially, I thought it was just because the brand was high quality (and it is) but it’s also due to how they’ve presented the product in an attractive way to me. And, we are like roaches in that we build resistance to the marketing and need more targeted methods as time goes by for us to continue falling prone to the products being thrown at us. I like the interracial family video for Cheerios you posted. I think that’s because it really does show a change in society reflected in the commercial. We’re becoming more tolerant. Marketers see this and pull on those strings to get us to relate to their brand and inspire brand loyalty in all of us. Thanks for the awesome post! (Sorry for my late comment.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

