WikiLeaks

I really enjoy watching documentaries about controversies, politics, and history. Needless to say that I found this week’s material super interesting. This week I definitely enjoyed watching, “We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks.” This documentary detailed the creation of Julian Assange’s controversial website, which facilitated the largest security breach in U.S. history.

IMG_1098   IMG_1101

Julian Assange did something that many people would be afraid to do, this in turn gave him a wide audience. Julian started off as a man with a great cause but as the time went by the true purpose of the cause got blurred. With his wide audience Assange made his publicity about himself instead of the cause.

IMG_1100

While I was watching this documentary I couldn’t help but notice how WikiLeaks seemed to have gotten word wide press and coverage everywhere in the world but here. I felt that back in 2010 I heard murmurs of WikiLeaks but it never got as much coverage here as it should have. I can’t believe how easily I missed out on global news, I had no idea that this was happening and it was happing in our own back yard.

wikileaks-batman-20101206-160050

The WiKiLeaks controversy is centered around a video that displayed how military men in a helicopter were killing innocent men and children by assuming that they were holding a weapon. This so called weapon actually turned out to be simple camera equipment. It was awful to see how mindlessly people could kill and how easily they could forget that value of a person’s life. American tax money at work.

IMG_1099

Out of this whole documentary the thing that stood out to me the most was how the people involved knew that this “secret” information was detrimental. As Michael Hayden, stated “…when I was director of CIA there was some stuff we were doing I wanted all 300 million Americans to know. But I never figured out a way without informing a whole bunch of other people that didn’t have a right to that information who may actually use that image, or that fact or that data or that message, to harm my country.” It seems to me like we’re spending more time hiding what we’ve done that preventing others from doing harm to us.

2 thoughts on “WikiLeaks

  1. Thanks for watching the documentary and for making some direct references to the content. That’s refreshing for me the teacher reading many blogs early in the morning.
    I am glad that the content of the doc made you more aware of the Wikileaks story. Assange has been in the U.S. news, but perhaps not filtering down to some of the news sources we go to most frequently.
    Thanks for including the Hayden quote. I think it’s revealing that gov’t officials themselves are often relieved when the truth finally gets out there. Do we want to hear the truth? And what will we do about it? Those are the questions that transcend the discussion of Assange’s reputation. Information is revolution. OK, I’ll hop off my bandwagon now.
    Thanks for your post.

    Like

    • Hello Ms. Pike,
      Thanks for replying. You bring up a good point. I believe that it’s necessary for us to know the truth, but the reality is that many of us don’t want to hear it. It’s amazing to hear the younger generations, my brother and sister for example become so accepting of what they hear or read without challenging it. People want to believe that the world is a wonderful place but the truth is that it’s not as wonderful as the media portrays it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

